biscuits, chocolate, eggless, wholewheat

Of Baking and Sons

How a mother bakes for her children, a lot of times “seems” to be seen as a reflection of her love for them ! Don’t we all remember how our mothers would bake cakes for us or brownies for our friends?

When I was pregnant, as it usually happens particularly with me, I started procrastinating about what kind of mother I would want to be.

You know how mothers are about their babies right? “Let me learn Mrs X’s recipe of chocolate brownies because my son/daughter likes them that way” or “Let me make a batch of those cookies for his friends?” Even as I write this blog post, I have spent many anxious moments thinking of the kind of cakes I want to make for my son’s birthdays 🙂

Baking is an expression of love in its true form..it is an amazing way to create beautiful and lifelong experiences for your children which they will relive several years later sitting in their living rooms, perhaps miles away from you. The scent of your mother’s evergreen cakes occupy that single-most important space in your heart, which does not fade with the passage of time.

The long and short of it is that more often than not, women learn to bake for their children. However, the one thing I have seen a little less of is (though I have seen it and I will get to that very soon) women baking WITH their children…or saying “Let me ask A to get the baking tin ready so that WE can bake a cake”…yes, mothers do that with their daughters as a fun activity, but baking with your son? Hmm…..it seems different ? But then fun activities for kids remain fun irrespective of gender! And this isn’t really a Masterchef-influenced opinion !

The more I thought about it the more certain I was of who I wanted to be as a mother– of course, I want to indulge my son and give him his childhood memories of the scent of his favourite brownies or the special cake on his birthday, so that he remembers me by those…but alongside that instead of waiting for him to say “Mom can you make that cake for me?” I’d rather that he said “Can we make that cake?”

I am sure several other mothers might be doing the same…but for me it struck me when I saw my friend Michelle, a very talented baker and a wonderful mother encouraging and involving her boys in her baking. I knew I am heading in the right direction because not for a single moment do I think that this makes me less “motherly” as compared to someone who bakes for her son always instead of with her son. If anything, I might dare to say that it makes me more of a mother because it is one of the ways to make my son confident about developing a new skill.

Well, no one can understand what a mother feels when her baby is born…and I mean no one, not even another mother, I feel each mother-child bond is unique…I would like to ensure that baking together is what makes my bond with my son unique.

There are several recipes that I have tried for Wholewheat Chocolate Shortbread Biscuits and of all those, this is the one that I have worked on in terms of proportions so that it works best for me and my son loves them and always helps me to shape the dough when I bake them !

Recipe Ingredients

1 cup Wholewheat Flour

½ cup powdered sugar

1/4 cup cocoa powder

100 gms Unsalted butter

1/2 grated nutmeg

Recipe Preparation

  1. Rub the sugar into the slightly cold butter with your hands.
  2. Add the cocoa powder and mix well.
  3. Add the wholewheat flour and nutmeg slowly, one big spoonful at a time.
  4. The dough will be moist so wrap it in cling film wrap and keep in the fridge.
  5. Preheat the oven for 10 minutes at 170 degrees celsius.
  6. Take out the cookie dough after 30 minutes.
  7. Shape it into flat balls.
  8. Place the cookies in a prepared baking tray.
  9. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes until the sides become brown.
  10. Cool off completely in the wire rack and then store in air-tight containers

My Tip: For these biscuits, the beautiful texture depends on how you mix the butter and sugar !

Leave a Reply

