biscuits, cane sugar, cookies, eggless, jowar, semolina, wholewheat

Walks in local grocery stores result in Multi-grain Cane Sugar Biscuits/Sables

A post on my FB group on healthy baking – Ovenderful Mom Bakers Community, about forms of sugar and queries related to cane sugar as we find it in India, triggered this post.

I remember strolling in the shop for my household grocery shopping. One of the things that I have imbibed from my mother is a keen interest in what the shelves contain, the new additions and variants – what can be tried out in cooking. Of course, as a child and even later when I accompanied her for this, it seemed like a tedious chore.

But as I started doing it for my home and my baking needs, I realized the thrill she feels when she sees a brand new product in the familiar often-visited rows of her local supermarkets or “kirana” stores.

Invariably you tend to pick up the pack to see what it contains, the fine-print behind and what it can be used for. Your mind starts roving to the delectable goodies you can make with that, even as you are standing in that passage trying to figure out if it should be bought or not.

That is what many folks might refer to as procastination, but I would choose to call vision:)

And one such random stroll lead me to find Cane Sugar. Below was my first trial recipe with it.

Multi-grain Cane Sugar Sables (French Biscuits)

Recipe Ingredients

1 cup WW flour ,

½ cup sooji/semolina

½ cup jowar flour

Almonds-1/2 cup

Grated Nutmeg-1/4 tsp

Butter-3/4 cup

Cane sugar-1 cup

Milk-2 tbsp

Recipe Preparation

  1. Cream together butter and cane sugar until fluffy. Roast almonds and then chop to small pieces, or grind them if you prefer.
  2. In a bowl add the flours, almonds and grated nutmeg and mix well. Add this mixture to the butter mixture and mix well. The dough will be a little dry / crumbly so add the milk a table spoon at a time and make it soft.
  3. Wrap it in a cling film. Refrigerate overnight or at least till it becomes firm. Preheat oven to 180C.
  4. You can choose to cut the dough into shapes of your choice. Place it on a greased lined tray in the middle rack
  5. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the base is a nice golden brown at the edges. Cool off entirely and then store them in an air tight jar.

My Tip: The nutmeg gives it that extra edge !

Leave a Reply

